REVIEW: Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth

SPOILERS! DO NOT READ THIS REVIEW IF YOU HAVE NOT READ DIVERGENT AND INSURGENT AND INTEND TO.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars, Genre: Fiction/ Dystopian, Pages: 526, Reading Level: Easy

Book Description:

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered- fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature- and of herself- while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Told from a riveting dual perspective, Allegiant, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the Divergent series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

Wow! Again, that’s how to end a series. Just as with the Sookie Stackhouse series, I will not pretend to be completely satisfied with how the story ends, but unlike Sookie, Allegiant was phenomenal- a worthy ending to a great series.

There are some really good shocks in Allegiant and I was pleasantly surprised at how warped the world, or United States, really is in the Divergent future.

I didn’t do this with Divergent and Insurgent. In retrospect, I really should have. I will have to go back and re-read those books. I don’t know if Roth’s writing and story got better over time, or if I was just not as observant when I read the first two books in the series, but based on Allegiant alone, the story really does provide so many opportunities for intelligent discussion.

By now, we all know what the factions are and what attribute each one embraces. Allegiant takes the faction system to its logical conclusion:

“Take away someone’s fear, or low intelligence, or dishonesty… and you take away their compassion. Take away someone’s aggression and you take away their motivation, or their ability to assert themselves. Take away their selfishness and you take away their sense of self-preservation.” p122

…And he’s right to say that every faction loses something when it gains a virtue: the Dauntless, brave but cruel; the Erudite intelligent but vain; the Amity, peaceful but passive; the Candor, honest but inconsiderate; the Abnegation, selfless but stifling. p123

And do I sense a debate in here about the existence of God?

You don’t believe things because they make your life better, you believe them because they’re true. p257

What if my parents’ God, their whole belief system, is just something concocted by a bunch of scientists to keep us under control? And not just their beliefs about God and whatever else is out there, but about right and wrong, about selflessness? Do all those things have to change because we know how our world was made? p137

I won’t get started on this one because I could absolutely go on and on and on…

And while all these quotes and issues in Divergent can be traced back to and indeed seen in our current time, this one pops up every single day. Can anyone say politics?

…when you control information, or manipulate it, you don’t need force to keep people under your thumb. They stay there willingly. p346

The following is my second favorite quote in the book:

And as I stare out at the land, I think that this, if nothing else, is compelling evidence for my parents’ God, that our world is so massive that it is completely out of our control, that we cannot possibly be as large as we feel.

So small as to be negligible.

It’s strange, but there’s something in that thought that makes me feel almost… free. p187

It reminds me of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, specifically the Total Perspective Vortex, which is a torture device. Basically, it is a ‘You are Here’ map of the universe, showing how insignificant you are, which makes you go crazy. It’s interesting because when I think about it, I always thought I would concentrate less on the ‘You are Here’ part and just marvel at and absorb the expanse of the universe. Rather than intimidating me, the thought gives me a strange sense of comfort.

Finally, I will not reveal my favorite quote. You’ll have to read Allegiant for yourself. The quote will be easy to find. It is the last in the book.

Reviewed by Christina
December 3, 2013

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth

  1. You’re aware that there is absolutely no mechanism for genes to magically heal themselves over time because DNA simply does not work that way, and therefore the entire premise that Veronica Roth made up at the last minute — and clearly did no research on — makes no sense?

    • Yikes, are we going to get all scientific now?

      I’m not a scientist and know VERY little about DNA. So what does a non-scientist do in reaction to such a comment? She Wikipedias it. Of course, Wikipedia knows everything. I was more interested in the sources of the article because when I searched DNA healing, I got a bunch of spiritual stuff; DNA repair got a whole bunch of Reiki sites.

      If lswallace82@yahoo.com‘s statement is true, I assume that is one of the many, MANY reasons this series is classified under fiction. In addition, I’m sure a good fiction writer can come up with dozens of explanations as to how the human race got to the point that DNA can magically heal itself over generations. Does that mean any of them are plausible or even possible? Of course not. Either you care or you don’t. I don’t. I read for entertainment. When I want to read something that is accurate, I read non-fiction.

      I do appreciate the comment lswallace82@yahoo.com and go back and forth on whether or not to include such things in my reviews. Most of the time I don’t because then my reviews would be very long. In addition, I am not a professional reviewer. My reviews are simply based on whether or not I enjoy a book. If I like the story, scientific accuracy is irrelevant to me. Trees could just up and start killing off people in self defense and I wouldn’t bat an eyelash. SPOILER! Oh wait, that’s The Happening. END OF SPOILER. If books had to be scientifically or historically accurate, there would be significantly fewer books out there.

      My blog doesn’t get a lot of comments yet and I would love to have more discussions on here. However, I don’t have the background to discuss a lot of science. The reason I enjoyed this series so much is because of the social engineering based on personality attributes. The philosophical discussion about the society Roth created is what had me intrigued. That and I am a sucker for dystopian fiction.

      The fact that someone took the time to comment about this makes me happy. I appreciate comments regardless of whether or not they agree with my review.

Leave a Reply

