REVIEW: Nightwalker (Dark Days #1) by Jocelynn Drake

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars, Genre: Fiction/Vampires, Pages: 384, Level: Easy

Book Description from Barnes & Noble:

“For centuries Mira has been a nightwalker- an unstoppable enforcer for a mysterious organization that manipulates earth-shaking events from the darkest shadows. But elemental mastery over fire sets her apart from others of her night-prowling breed… and may be all that prevents her doom.

The foe she now faces is human: the vampire hunter called Danaus, who has already destroyed so many undead. For Mira, the time has come to hunt… or be hunted.”

Alright, so the description is a little misleading. I guess what is really going on is meant to be a surprise so I won’t add any additional description of the story. The only thing I will mention is that this is not just about vampires; there are many other paranormal characters, although they are not all explored in Nightwalker, which is the first book of the Dark Days series.

First, may I ask- Why are all vampires skinny and sexy? And why do they all wear black leather or S&M clothes? Surely there are such things as ugly vampires or vampires with no sense of style, right? Just wondering…

The beginning was interesting and the end was interesting. I found the middle to be a little slow. There is a lot of fighting and it just got too repetitive for me. And then with all the sexy dressing and sexual innuendo, there was very little sex. And believe me, there was ample opportunity. Mira comments (paraphrasing), “I’ll do what I want, when I please,” and then she doesn’t.

I couldn’t quite get into Mira’s character. Sometimes I did like her but most of the time she came across as a spoiled brat with much too high of an opinion of herself. I don’t know if the author intended that, but it didn’t really work for me. She really needed a spanking from Danaus… Now that would have been a good scene.

And as a side note- I was a little surprised by the number of grammatical errors in a book that was not independently published. They were not everywhere and did not affect my enjoyment of the book, but there were enough that they caught my attention.

Bottom line, I will continue the series because I am waiting for something to happen that did not happen in book 1. In addition, the story was interesting enough for me to continue. With that said, if you are new to the vampire fiction sub-genre, I would not recommend starting here. If you are a vampire fiction aficionado who is not too caught up in traditional details of vampires, you may enjoy Nightwalker.

Reviewed by Christina

Leave a Reply

