REVIEW: Paula Danziger’s Amber Brown is Tickled Pink (Amber Brown #10)

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars, Genre: Children/ Fiction, Pages: 160, Level: Easy

Book Description from Barnes & Noble:

“Beloved Amber Brown returns in a new book!

Amber can’t wait to be Best Child when her mom and Max get married, but planning a wedding comes with lots of headaches. Amber can’t find the right dress, her dad keeps making mean cracks about Max, and Mom and Max have very different ideas about how much this wedding should cost. Her mother even suggests they go to city hall and skip the party altogether! Even though adults can be a lot of work, Amber is determined to be the best Best Child ever. She helps find the perfect location, makes her dad shape up, and, with the help of best friend Justin, gives the perfect wedding speech.

Paula Danziger called Bruce Coville and Elizabeth Levy her best friend and her other best friend, and this close connection enabled them to lovingly capture Amber Brown’s voice, sense of humor, big-heartedness, and her fondness for puns.”

The Amber Brown series is a fun series to read aloud with your child. Amber Brown is Tickled Pink is the most current in the series and possibly the last. It is written by the late Paula Danziger’s best friends, Bruce Coville and Elizabeth Levy, in honor of Ms. Danziger.

One of the details that makes this series so recommendable is that it deals with divorce. Amber’s parents are divorced, and not amicably I might add. They complain about each other, make snide comments about each other, etc. It’s been a while since I have read its predecessors, but this aspect seems to come out more prominently in Tickled Pink. I imagine the reason is that Amber is older and her mother is remarrying. Weddings seem to have a talent for bringing out the worst in situations that are less than pleasant to begin with. While a child should never be in this situation, I am happy to hear Amber stick up for her parents and tell them their bickering makes her uncomfortable. And I am glad that there are no 100% happy endings, i.e. parents miraculously stop bickering and become best friends. That would be cheating.

Now I may just be getting over-weepy in my old age, but Amber’s toast choked me up. If a book makes me cry, or struggle not to, it’s a sign of a well-written book in my opinion.

When I started reading this book, I did not realize that Paula Danziger had passed away. I can’t remember what it was that alerted me to that fact, but I had not read the dedication. So I went back to read it. That was the second time I got all choked up.

Amber Brown is Tickled Pink is a fun read and I definitely recommend it, especially for anyone who is looking for a book, or entire series for that matter, to read aloud to their kiddos.

Reviewed by Christina

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Paula Danziger’s Amber Brown is Tickled Pink (Amber Brown #10)

Leave a Reply

