Discussion (SPOILERS)- Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

Is Warm Bodies another retelling of Romeo and Juliet? Why or why not?

How is Warm Bodies a metaphor for modern society? Answer from the viewpoint of technology. Now answer from a more philosophical viewpoint, i.e. good and evil.

There are many religious undertones to Warm Bodies. Identify them. Who do the Bonies represent? Who do the living humans represent? Who do the zombies represent? Do you think Warm Bodies portrays religion as positive or negative? Explain your answers.

Do you recognize any political correctness issues in Warm Bodies? If so, where? Is it meant to mock political correctness or is it meant to illustrate its universality? Explain.

“Once you’ve arrived at the end of the world, it hardly matters which route you took” p6. Do you agree? Why or why not?

“How can I possibly explain this to her in words? The slow death of Quixote. The abandoning of quests, the surrendering of desires, the settling in and settling down that is the inevitable fate of the Dead” p53. What work does this quote reference? What is the quote’s significance?

“In my mind I am eloquent; I can climb intricate scaffolds of words to reach the highest cathedral ceilings and paint my thoughts. But when I open my mouth, it all collapses” p10. Identify the reference. How can this quote be used to explain religious belief or a belief in God?

“My “heart.” Does that pitiful organ still represent anything? It lies motionless in my chest, pumping no blood, serving no purpose, and yet my feelings still seem to originate inside its cold walls. My muted sadness, my vague longing, my rare flickers of joy. They pool in the center of my chest and seep out from there, diluted and faint, but real” p45. Does this have any significance in real life? Explain.

On page 94, Julie’s father says, “It’s a meaningless decoration. It sits there consuming time and resources, and then one day it decides to die, no matter how much you watered it. It’s absurd to attach an emotion to something so brief and pointless.” Is he still speaking about the plant? If not, who or what is he speaking about? Why would he say that?

“I erupt from the dark, crushing tunnel into a flash of light and noise. A new kind of air surrounds me, dry and cold as they wipe the last smears of home off my skin. I feel a sharp pain as they snip something, and suddenly I am less. I am no one but myself, tiny and feeble and utterly alone. I am lifted and swung through great heights across yawning distances and given to Her. She wraps around me, so much bigger and softer than I ever imagined from inside, and I strain my eyes open. I see Her. She is immense, cosmic. She is the world. The world smiles down on me, and when She speaks it’s the voice of God, vast and resonant with meaning, but words unknowable, ringing gibberish in my blank white mind. She says-” p60. Why is ‘Her’ capitalized? Does the tunnel and flash of light and noise signify anything? Other than birth or death, what else could this quote represent?

Do you think Warm Bodies describes the slow death of the humanity that is inside of each individual? If so, how? What would then be the difference between the zombies and the bonies?

Could R and Julie represent another famous couple? If so, who? Why?

What do you think the whole airport and airplane theme symbolizes?

“It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to, than I have ever known” Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities. Do you think this describes a scene in the book? Which one? Why do you think it describes that scene?

One thought on “Discussion (SPOILERS)- Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

  1. Even in their names I think the resemblance to Romeo and Juliet is quite obvious, but then there was also that balcony scene. In regards to the airport and airplane theme I think it speaks volumes. Airports symbolise for one waiting -such as waiting for change, and the slowness that comes with it – but it is also the epitome of humanity in that we are always moving, always wanting this sense of change whether that be in location or something on a higher plain. The fact that Isaac had R living in such a place says to me that they were all just waiting for something in this place meant for waiting, and when Julie comes the change begin there.
    I wrote a review on this book if you would like to check it out, I am in love with it and can’t wait to read his next instalment.

Leave a Reply

