REVIEW: Wool (Silo #1) by Hugh Howey

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars, Genre: Fiction/ Apocalyptic/ Dystopian, Pages: 50, Level: Easy

Book Description from Amazon:

“Thousands of them have lived underground. They’ve lived there so long, there are only legends about people living anywhere else. Such a life requires rules. Strict rules. There are things that must not be discussed. Like going outside. Never mention you might like going outside.

Or you’ll get what you wish for.”

I went to Amazon to get the summary and the first two reviews listed were titled, “Wow.” That was how I was going to start my review but I think I just posted one that started like that. I think I am lucky in that I happen to select really good reads or I just really like a lot of the things I do read. Either way, who cares? This was INCREDIBLY good!

Everyone lives in an old silo. Some apocalyptic event has made the outside unlivable. But there are rules. One rule is you are not allowed to want to go outside. While thoughts cannot be monitored, statements can, and if you state you want to go outside, you will get your wish. Unfortunately, it comes with a death sentence because the outside world cannot sustain life. Or can it? Has everything been a lie?

First, I love that it was titled Wool. I am the type of person who likes when pictures are off center, or the person in the picture is not looking at the camera. I also like when books have a title that is not obvious or the significance is not something obvious. I propose that there is a very good reason this short story is titled Wool- one obvious and one not so obvious but will seem obvious when it is pointed out to you, that is if you don’t figure it out on your own.

The writing and character development is phenomenal. The tension, frustration and fear seeps from the pages, or screen. And this is all in 50 pages. That’s amazing. Just remember, this is my opinion. Even the most successful novel has bad reviews. However the most you have to lose is less than an hour of your time and at most, 99 cents.

Finally, I would like to make one last observation about Wool. As I was reading this story, I couldn’t help but think how much it reminded me of the twisted short stories by Philip K. Dick. I am a huge fan of PKD and that is the highest compliment I could possibly give a SciFi book or story.

Wool is the first in a series. If you are a little hesitant about Apocalyptic Fiction, you can get Wool for free on the Kindle to try it out. If you don’t have a Kindle, you can download the Kindle app on your computer and just read it that way. Or you can pay 99 cents for Wool on your Nook to try it out. Then if you enjoy it, you can purchase the rest of the series. I certainly will!

Reviewed by Christina

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Wool (Silo #1) by Hugh Howey

  1. Pingback: Kindle Deals! Wool Omnibus and Shift Omnibus $1.99 each! | Book Expectations

  2. Pingback: 99¢: Wool Omnibus for Nook | Book Expectations

Leave a Reply

