REVIEW: Bloodlines #3: The Indigo Spell

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars, Genre: Young Adult/ Vampires, Pages: 401, Level: Easy

Book Description from Barnes & Noble:

“Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets- and human lives.

In the aftermath of a forbidden moment that rocked Sydney to her core, she finds herself struggling to draw the line between her Alchemist teachings and what her heart is urging her to do. Then she meets alluring, rebellious Marcus Finch- a former Alchemist who escaped against all odds, and is now on the run. Marcus wants to teach Sydney the secrets he claims the Alchemists are hiding from her. But as he pushes her to rebel against the people who raised her, Sydney finds that breaking free is harder than she thought. There is an old and mysterious magic rooted deeply within her. And as she searches for an evil magic user targeting powerful young witches, she realizes that her only hope is to embrace her magical blood- or else she might be next.”

At the time I am writing this review, that is April 6, 2013, Goodreads has 12,329 ratings of The Indigo Spell with an average of 4.51. I’m pretty sure I read the wrong book.

In the third installment of the Bloodlines series, Sydney is still at school protecting Jill, a Moroi princess. She has the help of Eddie, Angeline and Adrian. In addition, Sydney continues working with Ms. Terwilliger, a witch. As Sydney becomes more skilled with spells, she also finds herself in the path of a murderous witch who steals the youth and power from other spell casters.

Let me begin with what I enjoyed about The Indigo Spell, because there was only one thing. I enjoyed the attraction between Adrian and Sydney. I always felt Adrian got shafted in The Vampire Academy series and want him to find his soul mate.

Now onto the much longer section of the review- what I didn’t like. Seriously, how did this book get such high reviews?

I am not a fan of dumbing things down for young adults. If you have low standards for young adults, young adults will always have low standards. I guess this is good for authors because they don’t have to worry about making their books intelligent, but come on… this one was ridiculous.

The number of coincidences in The Indigo Spell was just embarrassing. Sydney and Adrian just happen to be going to the same wedding. Okay, considering who is getting married, I can buy that. However, they are on separate flights because they have to be discreet- no one knows they are working together to keep Jill safe and no one knows where they are. So they make plans to fly out on two separate planes… and due to overbooking, just happen to end up sitting next to each other in first class. I would find it believable if later it was revealed Adrian had somehow manipulated the whole situation, but no, it was merely coincidence.

Trust me, the plane farce is not even the dumbest one. In addition to the numerous coincidences that always bring them closer (sometimes literally) together, by far the worst is when they just happen to find themselves co-parenting a demon. No I did not just throw that in to be humorous; it actually happens.

Ay yay yay, I am having a hard time writing this review… The only reason I gave it two stars is because I really like Adrian’s character, but I’m trying to type fast because if I slow down, I may change my mind and drop a star.

A lot of the book was about witches and casting spells, which is not one of my usual genres. I don’t mind it from time to time, but this is supposed to be a vampire novel. I get the whole Moroi, Strigoi, Dhampir and Alechmist thing, but apparently that was not enough and Mead just had to start a whole Witchcraft thing. Please don’t begin another spinoff with a witch theme. Please…

And the Angeline storyline was annoying, distracting and quite frankly, unnecessary. Did Mead put it in there just to add pages? Maybe to put off Eddie and Jill getting together now that Eddie is with Angeline, just as Jill has realized she has feeling for Eddie?

I don’t know. Maybe I am just getting too old for this. I can’t tell if the quality of Mead’s stories has an inverse relationship with her paycheck, because surely she is a millionaire by now, or if I have just turned into a bitter old woman hurling insults at young whippersnappers. I know young adults crave the whole unrequited love thing, but does Mead think they are so stupid that they can’t figure out how unrealistic all these coincidences are? It all comes way too easy.

However, taking into consideration how high the ratings are, I am obviously in the minority. So my recommendation is: read at your own risk, but remember- I warned you.

Reviewed by Christina

Leave a Reply

