REVIEW: Undine by Friedrich de la Motte Fouqué

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars, Genre: Fiction, Pages: 77, Reading Level: Difficult

Book Description:

“A tale of a mischievous water-spirit.”

I heard about Undine in the book Love, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli, who ruined the ending by the way. Anyway, the mention of a mermaid in either the book or the description of Undine, tickled my daughter’s fancy and we decided to read it. So it’s an 1811 novella written by a German Romantic. Who cares? I was impressed she actually wanted to read it.

Wow Nellie! The entire book readeth like this. It’s in Old English. Nathless (actually a word), we read the entire thing. I had to look up words quite a bit, some of which could not be found on my ereader’s dictionary. It was quite the learning experience, although I will not be speaking in Old English anytime soon.

Sorry, but there will be a few spoilers. I won’t tell you the end, but while I enjoyed the story, I was seriously annoyed at times.

First, Undine is a spoiled brat. There. I said it. Maybe marriage subdued her a bit, but in the beginning, she is a whiny, tantrumy little brat and I couldn’t stand her. I have no idea why Huldbrand was so intrigued.

Second, Bertalda is a spoiled, ungrateful brat. She was adopted by a super rich family and when she found out that her birth parents are poor, she throws a full on tantrum, including stomping out of the room like a toddler. Oh yes, Huldbrand is attracted to Bertalda as well.

Third, Huldbrand is an idiot. Taking into account the two women previously mentioned, he is obviously attracted to spoiled brats who throw tantrums.

Seriously, what is wrong with these people?

I’m sure you are wondering why I gave it three stars. It’s actually a good story. I know in the days of Kim Kardashian, Lindsay Lohan, sex tapes, marriages that last days, etc., etc., that the drama in Undine may seem a little blasé. However, I still enjoyed it. Man falls in love with woman, man marries woman, woman turns out to be mermaid, man takes mermaid back to castle, man falls in love again with his former fiancée, and, well, I don’t want to spoil the ending.

If you’re feeling a little adventurous, give it a try.

Reviewed by Christina
October 24, 2013

Leave a Reply

