I Love My New Toy! (Elephant & Piggie #5) by Mo Willems

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars, Genre: Children’s Fiction, Pages: 64, Reading Level: Easy

Book Description:

Gerald is careful. Piggie is not.

Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can.

Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to.

Gerald and Piggie are best friends.

In I Love My New Toy!, Piggie can’t wait to show Gerald her brand new toy. But will an accidentally broken toy accidentally break a friendship?

While the story and vocabulary are for toddlers, it has adult humor in it as well, or at least humor adults will appreciate. I chuckle every time I read one of these books. And there are some great lessons to be learned.

This is my son’s favorite Elephant & Piggie book. Elephant accidentally breaks Piggie’s new toy. Or did he?

There are many things I love about this series. Willems uses fonts very well. For example, as the volume of a character’s voice goes up, so the punctuation, capitalization and font size change. In addition, Willems italicizes any words he intends to be emphasized. In this particular book, he even has a way of showing that words cannot sufficiently describe how angry Piggie is. All these things make for a really good and easy map for reading out loud without dumbing down the story.

The artwork is phenomenal. At first glance, it may seem very simple, but look closer. The facial expressions are so detailed- eyes watering, blushing, etc. These are really good books.

All his books display Mo Willems’ wonderful imagination and outstanding sense of humor. They are perfect to read aloud with my toddler! In fact, my family recently adopted a new reading routine at bedtime. Each of us selects an Elephant & Piggie book and reads it out loud. My son loves these books so much that he memorized them. Although he is technically not reading, he ‘reads’ a book as well. I highly recommend all the Elephant & Piggie books.

Reviewed by Christina
March 4, 2014

One thought on “I Love My New Toy! (Elephant & Piggie #5) by Mo Willems

Leave a Reply

