REVIEW: Wonder by R.J. Palacio

WonderRating: 4 out of 5 stars, Genre: Fiction, Pages: 310, Reading Level: Easy

Book Description:

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school- until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels.

I finished this book a while ago. Then I wrote a review… and walked away. Several days later, I changed the review… and walked away. I have done this now three times. This is my fourth attempt. Let’s see if I can make this one stick.

Here’s my problem with writing the review- We live in a society that strives so much for political correctness, that you could read the absolute worst book ever written, but if it is about this type of topic, one might feel uncomfortable criticizing it. Unfortunately, that’s where I’m at right now.

I considered just rating Wonder and not writing a review, but that felt like a cop out.

Therefore I will begin with an explanation of how I review books. I review books based on how much I enjoyed them. Depending on the situation, I may not mark down for typos, grammatical errors, etc. if the story is so engrossing that I don’t care about typos, grammatical errors, etc.

I’m not saying Wonder suffers from bad editing, but I did have an issue with the ending, enough of an issue that I took away one star.

Maybe I’m a chicken, but I’m not going to go into detail about it due to political correctness issues and because if I go into detail, it would constitute a spoiler. So you are just going to have to read Wonder to find out what I’m talking about and see if you also have the same issue with the ending as I do.

I absolutely recommend this book. It was a good book and very fast read, and because of the many discussion points, would make a great selection for a reading group.

Reviewed by Christina
June 12, 2014

Leave a Reply

