I gave them a try…

I gave these a try… and now I am officially calling it quits.

Rin Tin Tin: The Life and the Legend by Susan Orlean

Biographies are not my thing and biographies about dogs are really not my thing. I read more than 100 pages and the book was not horrible, but if it had not been a book group selection, I would not have picked it up. Orlean includes a lot of information about the history that surrounded Rin Tin Tin, for example, using animals in the war and how Hollywood worked back then, which was interesting. So it’s not 336 pages about a dog’s life. On the down side, the book group consensus was that Orlean did not include enough pictures which would have been fascinating since the book is about real people… and dogs.

If you are a huge Rin Tin Tin fan, you may enjoy this book.

The Autobiography of Santa Claus by Jeff Guinn

Again, this really isn’t due to the story or writing. I did find these stories very interesting. They are a fun mix of fact and fiction but as with Rin Tin Tin, this is not a book I would have picked up on my own and unfortunately wasn’t something that I just couldn’t put down. I think a lot of people will enjoy this so if it sounds remotely interesting, please give it a try. It is the first of a trilogy which includes How Mrs. Claus Saved Christmas and The Great Santa Search. I will definitely get back to this one, but probably not until next Christmas because it is time for my Christmas zombie tradition- The Stupidest Angel by Christopher Moore.

The Infatuations by Javier Marías

It’s been a while since I put this down but I’ll do my best to explain why I decided not to finish it in the near future. Part 1 is a lot of internal monologue and along with biographies (see Rin Tin Tin above) and diary style writing (see Gone Girl below), internal monologue is not my thing. I obviously hit a hump and hope to return to this book one day because the scandal is supposed to be really good, but at this moment, I just can’t get over the hump.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Yeah, I’m sure this one surprises a lot of you. It surprised me. So many of my friends absolutely raved about this book and whackadoodles are absolutely my thing. But the diary style writing… Ack. I can’t stand it. If I wanted to read a diary, I’d ransack my daughter’s room. Hopefully it wouldn’t be as eventful but I think you get my point.

Yikes. All these unfinished books are really hurting my Goodreads challenge score. Do two unfinished books equal one finished book?

So… to sum up. Not my thing:

  1. Biographies
  2. Internal monologue
  3. Diary style writing
  4. Whole sections of thought, written in italics (The Constant Princess, not included above)

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

